

Ed Schrader's Music Beat is Ed Schrader and Devlin Rice, a minimalist punk duo from the fair city of Baltimore, MD. In the beginning there was only Ed: a man unhinged, channeling to the world a sacred message in the form of song. His only divining instruments: a single floor tom, one light, and a commanding baritone. "He's a master songsmith who has reduced pop and punk to their most basic building blocks," says Christopher Weingarten of the Village Voice. Ed was soon joined by Devlin on bass, who proved to be an acute match for encapsulating the space-time from whence they came.

Their union quickly brought about the release of Jazz Mind, which SPIN rated an eight out of ten and called the sound of "the unfiltered, primordial joy of pounding on shit." The album (featuring collaborations with Randy Randall of No Age and Matmos) captured their raw and jarring live show through weird, wiry rock songs with a decidedly smart sensibility. Ed Schrader's Music Beat have toured requently in North America and Europe, notably alongside friends and fellow Baltimoreans Dan Deacon and Future Islands, and hardcore luminaries Ceremony.

Party Jail picks up where Jazz Mind left off, adding a skillfully crafted, minimal pop vibe to their already terse punk sound. The follow-up features songs that are equally loud and destructive, pensive and mischievously haunting. An early version of "Radio Eyes" was chosen for the "Sub Pop 1000" Record Store Day 2013 compilation. A new version of this song appears on Party Jail, as well as the upcoming single "Pantomime Jack" which, among other subjects, ponders existing in a universe that culturally charts music that began and ended with the "Live Aid" generation through its self important pontifications and documentaries. "Music begins now!" says Ed. The album also features additional drums by Jeremy Hyman of Ponytail,

Dan Deacon, and Boredoms.



ED SCHRADER'S MUSIC BEAT - PARTY JAIL PRESS: CHRIS HNAT, CHRIS@GRANDSTANDHQ.COM ICR-83 LP/CD

POINTS OF INTEREST:

- Ed Schrader's Music Beat's first album for Infinity Cat Recordings
- Limited edition first press: 100 yellow available through preorders at infinitycat.com, 400 white available online and in stores
- Additional drums by Jeremy Hyman of Ponytail, Dan Deacon, and Boredoms
- Includes reworked version of "Radio Eyes" (Sub Pop)
- Named "Band to Watch" by Stereogum
- Spring US/European tour with Future Islands

TRACKLISTING:

- 1. PANTOMIME JACK
- 2. PINK MOONS
- 3. EMPEROR'S NEW CHAIR
- 4. TELEVAN
- 5. CLOCK WEATHER
- 6. RADIO EYES
- 7. COLD RIGHT HAND
- 8. NO FASCINATION
- 9. LAUGHING
- 10. SIGNS
- 11. DESIRE POST
- 12. PILOT
- 13. WEEKEND TRAIN

